Recycled Crayons

I mentioned in my Parties On a Budget Post (Part II) that you can make new crayons from old ones.  I tried it the other day and now that’s all I want to do!

I found a box of used crayons at a garage sale for $1.  It was a worthwhile expenditure since I’ve already gotten one birthday present out of the box, and we’re going to another birthday party this week.  

Here’s what I used: a cookie sheet, heart shaped cupcake pans (disposable), old crayons, and my oven.

Directions:

Peel the paper off and break the crayons into ~1/2 pieces. 

Fill shaped pans or cupcake tins or whatever with similar colors.  (I made primary-ish colors with a layer and 1/2.  In other words, there was enough to pretty much cover the bottom layer and a couple pieces on top of that to fill the gaps.   With the reds, I mixed pinks and light purples.  With the greens, I mixed light greens and dark greens.  With yellow, I mixed odd colors.  With the blues, I mixed light blues and dark purples.) 

Place in a 200 degree oven for 5 minutes (keep an eye on them) until they are melted. 

I used cupcake tins to mold new crayons from old ones
I used cupcake tins to mold new crayons from old ones

Pull them out of the oven and stir the crayons, but not too much. 

Place in the refrigerator for wax to cool (5 minutes did it for me).  And then pop them out. 

 Tips:

Use the same brand crayons for each color.  Different manufacturers use different wax or dyes or whatever, this makes their melting points different and might not yield the best results. 

Break off or use your potato peeler to shave off any unwanted stuff.  I was giving the present to a one year old and I didn’t want her eating that much fine wax. 

Have fun!  There is no right or wrong way to recycle crayons.

4 Comments

  1. Jane said,

    October 6, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Great idea!

    I am wondering about the molds. I don’t have any disposable ones and don’t know where to buy them? What I do have is some small metal shaped tins that my kids use for playdough. Could I use those?

    And…glad you are back!

    • kyleandclara said,

      October 7, 2009 at 3:26 pm

      i don’t see why not… if they’re metal, it’ll work great. plastic would melt right alonw with the wax, i would think :). i would worry about how you could pop them out…. just wait until it is really cooled off and it should (though I haven’t tried it myself) fall right out.

  2. Jane said,

    October 7, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    Great! If I try it I’ll let you know how it turns out.

  3. Danna Lockerby said,

    October 12, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    Very cool idea and a fun craft to do with my 3 year old.


Leave a Reply

