Foamy Soap

While I’m working on my next long post (I’ve got two in the works), I thought I’d share this little tidbit…

I love foaming hand soap.  I love that it is now available in most public restrooms.  I love it because it doesn’t leave behind a residue or too much soap smell.  I feel like my hands are really clean. 

As you probably know, you can buy foaming hand soap at the store now.  But did you know that you don’t have to buy the manufacturer refills? 

“But CnC, how do you get foam without paying for it?”  Fear not, dear reader, I’ll tell you my secret.

Foaming hand soap is made from a specialized dispenser and diluted soap.  You will have to buy the dispenser.  I like Dial’s.  On sale, it’s around $1.25.

Once you’ve bought one for each of the sinks in your house, you can refill them with your own diluted soap.  I mix mine in the soap dispenser.  I put around 1/2 inch of soap on the bottom and fill the rest up with water.  There is usually a fill line on your soap dispenser.  Replace the lid and shake shake shake.  You’re done shaking when you can no longer see the difference between soap and water.   

Soap is less expensive when bought in  large containers.  But if you have a favorite scent, buy it in the smaller containers (on sale, with a coupon) and use that for your refill bottle.  It’s still less expensive than full-strength soap.  I’ve been using the same gallon-sized soap refill for almost 6 years now… and we wash our hands A LOT. 

May you save more so you can give more away!!!

2 Comments

  1. Jen said,

    September 16, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    Foam Soap recently hit the top of my “buy-me’s” list, right next to a clothes steamer! I kinda am obsessed with it…and for all the go-green-gurus….there’s a lot of cheap environmentally-friendly brands even available at your grocery store. Go foam!

  2. Larry said,

    October 29, 2009 at 2:33 am

    Great tip! Although you have to choose the type of hand soap to use for the mix as well, because some of them leave soap residue that may be damaging to the skin.


Leave a Reply

